Kurunegala, Matara MP slots reduced
Apr 19, 2014

The number of Members of Parliament to be elected from the Kurunegala and Matara electoral districts has reduced by one each, whereas the number from the Wanni and Nuwara-Eliya districts has increased according to the electoral register, a statement said yesterday.

Annually, in keeping with the constitutional requirement, the Elections Commissioner announces the number of MPs allocated for each electoral district depending on the total voter population. The gazette notification, issued in this respect, says that only 15 members will be elected from Kurunegala instead of 16 allotted last time.

Also, seven MPs can get elected from Matara, according to the latest electoral register. Eight seats were designated for the district last time.

However, the number to be elected from Wanni district has increased to six from five. The Nuwara-Eliya district will get eight MPs now instead of seven seats allocated last time.

The numbers, to be elected from the other 22 electoral districts, remain intact this time. Colombo has got 19 seats, Gampaha 18, Kalutara 10, Kandy 12, Matale 5, Galle 10, Hambantota 7, Jaffna 6, Batticaloa 5, Digamadulla 7, Trincomalee 4, Puttalam 8, Anuradhapura 9, Polonnaruwa 5, Badulla 9, Moneragala 6 , Ratnapura 11 and Kegalle 9.

Source: Daily Mirror - Sri Lanka

comments powered by Disqus