Govt. to appoint 25 District Ministers
Sep 25, 2013
The Government has decided to revive the ‘District Ministerial System’and appoint 25 district ministers shortly to expedite the development process and maintain law and order, the Daily Mirror learns. This system was first introduced by President J.R. Jayewardene,

A senior Cabinet Minister on condition of anonymity told Daily Mirror yesterday that District Ministers would act as the political authority of each district under the direction of the President.

The civil administration and the development programme of the District will come under his or her direct purview.

When asked whether there would be any conflict between the Chief Minister and the District Minister in performing their assigned duties, the minister said both would have to work in close cooperation and must not attempt to override each other’s authority as both had the mandate of the people as their elected representatives.

President Rajapaksa’s objective in re-introducing the District Ministerial System is to give an opportunity for UPFA members to participate in the development programme and political activities of their respective districts.

Priority will be given to young and upcoming UPFA parliamentarians who obtained the highest number of preferential votes at the 2010 parliamentary elections but still not appointed as a deputy or project minister.

One of the frontline contenders for the appointment as a District Minister is Hambantota District UPFA parliamentarian and President’s son Namal. A number of ministers are expected to get District Ministerial posts, the senior Cabinet Minister said.

President Jayewardene formed the District Development Councils in 1979 and appointed District Ministers to head them. However, President Chandrika Kumaratunga who came to power abandoned the system.

Source: Daily Mirror - Sri Lanka

comments powered by Disqus