UNP revamps at grassroots
June 19, 2012
The United National Party (UNP) had made some changes to its organisational set up and had replaced some of the old organisers with new ones including MP Asoka Abeysinghe who was the joint organizer of Kurunegala together with Dayasiri Jayasekera.

The party had appointed two organisers to some constituencies including Horana, Yapahuwa, Wellaway, Daraniyagala, Anamaduawa, Mahara and Beruwala. Therefore member of North Western Provincial Council Shamal Senarath was appointed the new joint organizer of Kurunegala yesterday.

Accordingly Tushara Gunaratne and D. G. Somasiri were appointed to Horana while Jinadasa Lekamge and Bandula Bandaranaike were appointed for Yapahuwa. Rohana Ratnayake and Madusanka Karunaratne were appointed for Wellawaya. In addition Priyantha Abeysinghe and Ranjith Polgampola were appointed to the Daraniyagala seat.

Other area organisers appointed were Tushara Hemachnadra for Mahara, Ranjith Tilakasiri for Beruwala, Pathmala de Alwis for Galagedara, Anil Serasinghe for Ududumbara, Lakshman Wijesiri for Teldeniya, Lal Silva for Ambalangoda, Sandaruwan Wickramaratne for Wiyaluwa, Hasitha Muhandiram for Kalawana and Santha Abeysekera for Anamaduwa. Sujeewa Senasinghe was appointed as the organizer for Kaduwala.

In addition two district organisers were appointed for Kandy and Moneragala. Two district organisers who were appointed to Kandy were W. Rajaratnam and Nazar Mohamaned. District organisers for Moneragala are Sampath Jayasiriya and Jayasinghe Bandara. In addition Tissa Kuttiarachchi also acts as a district organizer for Moneragala. He had been appointed earlier to the post.

R.M. Ratnayake was appointed as the District organizer for Badulla, Asoka Herath for Nuwaraeliya and MP Wijayakala Maheshwaran as the district organizer for Jaffna.

Source: Daily Mirror - Sri Lanka