Felicitation ceremony for war heroes at Sabaragamuwa Province
By Janaka Alahapperuma
Aug 19, 2009
People of the Sabaragamuwa province felicitated President Mahinda Rajapaksa and the war heroes at the Sumana Saman Devalaya in Ratnapura today afternoon on 18th August.

Venerable Maha Sanga, Defense Secretary Mr. Gotabaya Rajapaksa, Chief of Defence Staff and former Army Commander Gen Sarath Fonseka, former Navy Commander Admiral Wasantha Karannagoda, many politicians and Sabaragamuwa people were participated the colourful ceremony.

Elimination of terrorism does not gurantee total national security as we all wished. If government aimed at short term petty political gains on what our war heroes have achieved by sacrifising their valuable lives, then this outstanding victory would not have materialised. President Mahinda Rajapaksa made these comments addressing the felicitation ceremony for war heroes at Saman Devalaya in Ratnapura.

He further said that the government has implemeted a massive programme to re-build the country which was destroyed by brutal terrorism for last 30 years. He noted that the bravery of the vialent war heroes and the enthusiasm displayed by the people to defeat the terrorism is also vital when rebuilding the country.

Sri Lankan people who have understood this fact are ready to unite under one flag disregarding party politics for the sake of national unity. All political leaders and political parties also should realise this simple fact and extend their fullest support towards development, President further added.

Chief Sanganayaka of Sabaragamuwa of Malwaththa Chapter Ven. Vehalle Aththadassi Nayaka Thero bestows the sannas pathraya to the President. Ven. Hadapangoda Wimalanayaka Thero felicitated Defense Secretary Mr. Gotabaya Rajapaksa. Minister W. J. Senevirathne presented a Memento on be half of the People of Sabaragamuwa to President. Chief Minister Mr. Mahipala Herath also presented a memento to President.

Former Army Commander Gen. Sarath Fonseka, former Navy Commander Admiral Wasantha Karannagoda, former CDS. Admiral Donald Perera, I.G.P Jayantha Wicremarathna, Director General of Civil Defence Rear Admiral Sarath Weerasekara were also felicitated at the ceremony.

(Pix: Sudath Silva)