Commemorative stamps of four public figures

Jan 21 (IL) President Kumaratunga has asked Mass Communication Ministry Secretary Thilak Ranaviraja to issue four new stamps to commemorate four eminent public personalities.

The four new stamps, which were due to be issued in 2001, had been reportedly delayed due to political reasons.

The stamps are that of Ven. Kalasuriya Mapalagama Thera, former Highways Minister Maithripala Senanayake, the first Posts Minister C. Sittampalam and labour leader M.G. Mendis.

The stamps are due to be issued before National Heroes Day according to orders given by Mr. Ranaviraja.