Two more Tamil MPs appointed as Deputy Ministers
By Janaka Alahapperuma
Aug 21, 2014
Two more Indian origin Tamil parliamentarians took oaths before President Mahinda Rajapaksa as deputy ministers at Temple Trees this morning (21 August). Secretary to the President Lalith Weeratunga was present at the occasion. Already Sri Lankan cabinet has 67 members and with these two new appointments bring up the number of deputy ministers to 42.

Democratic People's Congress leader and Colombo district parliamentarian Praba Ganeshan was sworn in as Deputy Minister in Telecommunications and Information Technology while P Digambaram of National Workers Union, a plantation sector trade union and Nuwara Eliya District parliamentarian has been sworn in as Deputy Minister in National Languages and Social Integration.

MP Prabha Ganesan, the brother of Democratic People’s Front (DPF) leader Mano Ganesan, and MP P. Digambaram crossed over to the government in 2010 after contesting the General Election under the main Opposition UNP ticket pledging support to President Rajapaksa.

However these new appointments will be very significance to the final results of the Badulla District as it came just days ahead of the Provincial Council Elections in Uva Province on September 20, where a considerable number of Indian origin ethnic Tamils are based.

Pix by: Nishanka De Silva

comments powered by Disqus