Central Bank designates Chinese “Renminbi” for Banking Transactions in Sri Lanka
By Central Bank
June 30, 2011

The Monetary Board, at its meeting on 27th June 2011, decided to include the Chinese Renminbi in the list of designated currencies permitted for international transactions through banks in Sri Lanka in terms of the provisions of the Banking Act. Accordingly, the public can now undertake all permitted transactions in foreign currency in Renminbi with banks authorized for such transactions.

The other currencies in the designated list are Australian Dollar, Canadian Dollar, Danish Kroner, Euro, Hong Kong Dollar, Japanese Yen, New Zealand Dollar, Norwegian Kroner, Pound Sterling, Singapore Dollar, Swedish Kroner, Swiss Franc and United States Dollar.

China is recognized today as the world’s second largest economy, while also being a leading player in international trade, investments, and foreign reserves. It also enjoys extensive economic connections with many countries, as a result of which the Renminbi has been gradually evolving as a globally acceptable currency.

Since Sri Lanka too has a growing volume of trade and investments transactions with China, the use of the Chinese currency, Renminbi, in banking transactions would significantly facilitate such trade and investments.

Source: Central Bank of Sri Lanka