Player of the tournament Jeewantha Kulatunga ignored by selectors
Mar 10, 2010
Man of the tournament at the concluded domestic Twenty-20 cricket championship after scoring 277 runs at 69.25, which included the only century of the series, Jeewantha Kulatunga has been ignored for a place in the Sri Lanka 30-member provisional squad at next month’s World Cup in the West Indies.

Kulatunga’s Wayamba team won the title last Sunday by beating the Ruhunu side but the dashing allrounder is not worth his salt for the Sri Lanka team despite his cracking form raising many an eye-brow.

A product of Maliyadeva College, Kulatunga has been one of the most consistent players on the domestic scene but never given an extended break.

Instead the selectors have picked Nuwan Zoysa who was a virtual non-performer, scored only 86 runs and taking three wickets in five matches for Basnahira South. Zoysa last played for Sri Lanka in 2007.

Zoysa does not come even close to the veteran Chaminda Vaas who took three wickets for three runs in one of the matches.

Ruhuna's promising wicketkeeper batsman Dinesh Chandimal also finds a place in the 30 along with his former Under-19 team-mates Thissara Perera and Lahiru Thirimanne. Chandimal finished the leading run-scorer in the tournament with 320 runs from seven matches.

Squad: Kumar Sangakkara (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Jayawardene, Chamara Kapugedara, Angelo Mathews, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Thissara Perera, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Suraj Randiv, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Nuwan Kulasekera, Thilan Thushara, Chanaka Welagedara, Suranga Lakmal, Farveez Maharoof, Isuru Udana, Malinga Bandara, Mahela Udawatte, LahiruThirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Muthumudalige Pushpakumara, Kaushalya Weeraratne, Kaushal Silva, Chamara Silva, Upul Tharanga, Jeewan Mendis, Nuwan Zoysa

Courtesy: Daily Mirror